INTRODUCTION

DEDICATION

We dedicate this year's *Dukeminier Awards Journal* to Williams Institute Founder Chuck Williams. The winning articles reflect Chuck's dedication to supporting cutting-edge legal scholarship that imagines a world where all LGBTQ people can thrive.



Thank you for your vision, Chuck.

The Dukeminier Awards Journal Selection Committee

THIS YEAR'S WINNERS

The Williams Institute and the student editors at the UCLA School of Law are pleased to publish Volume 22 of the *Dukeminier Awards Journal*, which annually recognizes outstanding achievements in recently published legal scholarship that engages with pressing sexual orientation and gender identity issues. With this release, we are pleased to recognize the following Dukeminier Prize winners:

The Michael Cunningham Prize

Cori Alonso-Yoder, *Making a Name for Themselves*, 74 RUTGERS L. REV. 911 (2022).

The Stu Walter Prize

Hila Keren, Separating Church and Market: The Duty to Secure Market Citizenship for All, 12 U.C. IRVINE L. REV. 907 (2022).

The M.V. Lee Badgett Prize

Ryan Thoreson, "Discriminalization": Sexuality, Human Rights, and the Carceral Turn in Antidiscrimination Law, 110 CAL. L. REV. 431 (2022).

The Ezekiel Webber Prize

T. Anansi Wilson, *Sexual Profiling & BlaQueer Furtivity: BlaQueers on the Run*, 24 The Scholar: St. Mary's L. Rev. Race & Social Justice 179 (2022).

In addition, each year the Journal publishes the winner of the Williams Institute's annual Student Writing Competition. This year's winners (tie) are:

The Jeffrey S. Haber Prize for Student Scholarship

Paton Moody, Busting Bostock: The CRT Critique (2022).

Taylor Roberts-Sampson, Queer and Trans Foster Youth of Color: Mapping the Margins of the Child Welfare System (2022).

About the Prize Winners

Eligible articles for this year's Dukeminier Prizes were published between September 1, 2021 and August 31, 2022 and engaged with sexual orientation and gender identity legal issues in a sustained way. In September 2022, the student note editors of the Journal ran relevant search terms in legal scholarship databases to cast a wide net for relevant articles. The students then narrowed that large group to over 120 articles that students deemed presumptively eligible for this year's awards. At this stage, the students were not reviewing the articles for merit; instead, the students focused on the degree of attention given to relevant issues, broadly understood.

The Institute then invited nominations for articles through an open call on our website and from over 50 law professors who regularly publish legal scholarship focused on sexual orientation and gender identity. We provided the professors with the students' list of eligible articles, but did not limit nominations to articles appearing on that list. Numerous law professors submitted nominations, as did the student editors and scholars affiliated with the Williams Institute.

We convened a committee to select the winners from among those finalists. The committee included Professor Emerita Nancy Polikoff, a visiting scholar at the Williams Institute and Professor of Law Emerita at American University Washington College of Law; Professor Jeremiah Ho, Associate Professor of Law at the University of Massachusetts School of Law; Gregory Davis, Richard Taylor Law Teaching Fellow at UCLA School of Law; Christy Mallory, Legal Director at the Williams Institute; Brandon Giovanni, Editor-in-Chief of the Dukeminier Awards Journal; Joseph Kim, Chief Articles Editor of the Dukeminier Awards Journal; and Zachary Hampel, Chief Articles Editor of the Dukeminier Awards Journal. Each committee member reviewed the finalist articles before meeting in March 2023 to choose the winners. The winning articles embody the best in this year's sexual orientation and gender identity legal scholarship. We recognize these articles for their original arguments and intersectional approaches, timeliness and impact, academic rigor, and quality of research and writing.

For the student note competition, a committee comprised of Isabel Lafky, Senior Editor of the Dukeminier Awards Journal and Geena Roberts, Managing Editor of the Dukeminier Awards Journal, as well as Christy Mallory, selected the winners among entries received in the fall of 2022 through an open call for submissions. In selecting the winners, we focused on originality, scholarly contribution, timeliness, academic rigor, and overall quality of the research and writing. Although this year's student note competition winners were Dukeminier Journal staff, they took no part in the consideration of the student note entries and all entries were reviewed blind by the student note selection committee.