INTRODUCTION

The Williams Institute and the student editors at the UCLA School of Law are pleased to publish Volume 23 of the *Dukeminier Awards Journal*, which annually recognizes outstanding achievements in recently published legal scholarship that engages with pressing sexual orientation and gender identity issues. With this release, we are honored to recognize the following Dukeminier Prize winners:

The Michael Cunningham Prize

Cis-Woman-Protective Arguments, 123 COLUM. L. REV. 845 (2023) Chan Toy McNamarah

The Stu Walter Prize

Identity by Committee, 57 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 657 (2022) Scott Skinner-Thompson

The M.V. Lee Badgett Prize

Disorderly Content, 97 Wash. L. Rev. 907 (2022) Ari Ezra Waldman

The Ezekiel Webber Prize

Weaponizing Fear, 132 Yale L.J. F. 163 (2022-2023) S. Lisa Washington

In addition, each year the Journal publishes the winner of the Williams Institute's Annual Student Writing Competition. This year's winner is:

The Jeffrey S. Haber Prize for Student Scholarship

Curious Continuity: How Bostock Preserves Sex-Stereotyping Doctrine, 23 Dukeminier Awards J. 235 (2024)
Alexandra R. Johnson

ABOUT THE PRIZE WINNERS

Eligible articles for this year's Dukeminier Prizes were published between September 1, 2022 and August 31, 2023 and engaged with sexual orientation and gender identity legal issues in a sustained way. In September 2023, the articles editors ran relevant search terms in legal scholarship databases to cast a wide net for eligible articles. The students then narrowed that large group to over 100 articles that students deemed presumptively eligible for this year's awards. At this stage, the students were not reviewing the articles for merit; instead, the students focused on the degree of attention given to relevant issues, broadly understood.

The Institute then invited nominations for articles through an open call and from over 50 law professors who regular publish legal scholarship focused on sexual orientation and gender identity. We provided the professors with the students' list of eligible articles, but did not limit nomination to articles appearing in the list. Numerous law professors submitted nominations, as did the student editors and scholars affiliated with the Williams Institute. All articles that received nominations were automatically sent to our prize committee. Williams Institute legal scholars reviewed the remaining articles and selected a number to join the nominated articles and be considered by the entire prize committee.

The Institute convened a committee to select the winners from among those finalists in March 2024. Each Volume's prize committee is comprised of a group of Williams Institute legal scholars, former Dukeminier Prize winners, and *Dukeminier Awards Journal* senior editors. The Volume 24 Prize Committee was comprised of: Nancy Polikoff, visiting scholar at the Williams Institute and Professor of Law Emerita at American University Washington College of Law; Ryan Thoreson, Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Cincinnati College of Law; Professor Jeremiah Ho, Associate Professor at Saint Louis University School of Law; Gregory Davis, Allston Burr Resident Dean at Harvard University; Christy Mallory, Williams Institute Legal Director; Ishani Chokshi, Williams Institute Daniel H. Renberg Law Fellow; Isabel Lafky, Editor-in-Chief of the *Dukeminier Awards* Journal; Lindsay Bracken and Christian Giannini, both *Dukeminier* Chief Articles Editors; and myself, Will Tentindo, Staff Attorney at the Williams Institute and current advisor for the Journal.

Each year, the members of the selection committee decide the precise criteria for that year, guided by the goals of the *Dukeminier Awards Journal*. The winning articles embody the best in this year's sexual orientation and gender identity legal scholarship. We recognize these articles for their original arguments and intersectional approaches, timeliness and impact, academic rigor, and quality of research and writing. The Selection Committee also valued the idea of recognizing developing scholars and works covering a broad range of issue areas. We viewed each article holistically and extensively discussed the finalists in light of these criteria, and selected the above four articles for prizes this year.

On a special note, each scholar recognized this year is being awarded a Dukeminier Prize for the first time. However, Professor McNamarah received a Jeffrey S. Haber Prize for Student Scholarship in Volume 17 of the *Dukeminier Awards Journal*, which was published in 2018. This makes Professor McNamarah the first person in our Journal's history to receive both the Haber and Dukeminier Prizes.

For the student note competition, a committee comprised of Dukeminier Editor-in-Chief Isabel Lafky, Senior Editor Jet Harbeck, Managing Editor Randall Jones, and Chief Notes Editor Geena Roberts as well as Christy *INTRODUCTION* ix

Mallory and myself selected the winners among entries received in the Fall of 2023 through an open call for submissions. To be eligible, articles must be authored by a student at a law school during the 2023-2024 academic year, regardless of degree track or progress. In selecting the winner, we focused on originality, scholarly contribution, timeliness, academic rigor, and overall quality of the research and writing. All entries were reviewed blind by the student note selection committee.

Over the 23 years that the *Dukeminier Awards Journal* has published, the field of sexual orientation and gender identity law and policy has attracted significant attention and seen consequential developments. Early issues of Dukeminier include articles discussing criminal sodomy bans, pressing for the inclusion of transgender rights in the fight for the rights of sexual minorities, and the impact of employment nondiscrimination laws. While certain challenges remain ever-present, others are unprecedented. Our winners this year take on some of the new and emerging issues impacting LGBTQ people and their families, using both established and novel ways of thinking to understand and address these contemporary legal problems. Additionally, our winning professors teach in different corners of the country and have unique specializations that all intersect with sexual orientation and gender identity law. Their expertise, and the scholarship for which they are now awarded a Dukeminier Prize, reflect the breadth and rigor of the field of sexual orientation and gender identity law and scholarship as a whole. As first-time Dukeminier Prize winners, they join the list of esteemed experts that the Journal has celebrated throughout the years. We hope that, in republishing their articles, their work reaches an even larger audience of practitioners, professors, policymakers, and the public.

Congratulations to this year's winners!

Will Tentindo, J.D. Staff Attorney The Williams Institute UCLA School of Law