USAID-Williams Institute Webinar on the Relationship between Global LGBT Inclusion and Economic Development

Wednesday, February 25, 2015
7 a.m. PST / 10 a.m. EST
4 p.m. (Amsterdam) / 6 p.m. (Nairobi)

To watch a video recording of the webinar, click here.
To view the presentation slides, click here.
To read the Q&A for the webinar, click here.

This webinar explored the relationship between the global inclusion of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people and economic development. The speakers reviewed some of the connections, at the micro and macro level, between rights and income. The speakers also presented the findings of a study that analyzes the impact of the treatment of LGBT people on economic development in 39 emerging economies and other selected countries. The study uses, for the first time, the Global Index on Legal Recognition of Homosexual Orientation, based on eight categories of legal recognition and protection for lesbians and gay men. The study also uses a provisional index on transgender rights. The researchers found substantial evidence in many countries that discrimination and violence against LGBT people create economic harms for individuals that also affect a country’s economic performance.

Speakers include:

Claire Lucas, Senior Advisor for Public-Private Partnerships in the Office of Innovation and Development Alliances (IDEA), USAID

Stephen O’Connell, Chief Economist, USAID

Lee Badgett, Williams Distinguished Scholar and Director of the Center for Public Policy and Administration, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Kees Waaldijk, Professor of Comparative Sexual Orientation Law, Leiden Law School, The Netherlands, and former McDonald/Wright Chair of Law, The Williams Institute

The webinar will be moderated by R. Bradley Sears, Roberta A. Conroy Scholar of Law and Executive Director, The Williams Institute at UCLA School of Law.

To register, click here. Call-in and login instructions will be provided in an automatic email response. Toll-free international numbers are available for some countries.

To read the full report, click here.

Share Button