April 19 – LGBT Exclusion in Indonesia and Its Economic Effects

Discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) Indonesians in workplaces, schools, and social opportunities is pervasive and will limit their ability to fully contribute to the Indonesian economy.  A new study shows that the cost of discrimination to the Indonesian economy could range from nearly 900 million to 12 billion US dollars.

The speakers will review  the findings and give specific examples of how exclusion may negatively impact the productivity of LGBT Indonesians, thus diminishing Indonesia’s GDP as a whole. The speakers will also discuss using an economic approach to argue for more human rights for LGBT people.

REGISTER to gain access information.

Please note times AND DATES for various time zones
Jakarta, 9:00 am, Thursday, April 20, 2017
Los Angeles, 7:00 pm, Wednesday, April 19, 2017
New York, 10:00 pm, Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Presenters:

M.V.  Lee Badgett, PhD
Williams Distinguished Scholar

Amira Hasenbush, JD, MPH
Jim Kepner Law and Policy Fellow

Winston E. Luhur
Williams Institute Research Assistant

Dédé Oetomo
GAYa Nusantara

 Tunggal Pawestri
Women’s Rights Activist

Share Button