June 22 – Webinar: Collecting Data about Gender Identity

RSVP FOR THE WEBINAR

While current data has helped policymakers and advocates investigate concerns about discrimination faced by transgender and gender minority people, more data is needed.  The webinar explores the challenges in identifying transgender and gender minority people in large surveys such as those used by governments and development agencies.  Panelists will discuss the “science of measurement” and give examples of questions used on surveys to measure gender.  Examples of best practices will be presented, along with cross-cultural and safety considerations which may require the development of further guidance for researchers and advocates.

The Williams Institute study that explores this topic can be found at Exploring International Priorities & Best Practices for Collecting Data on Gender Minorities.

Times for the webinar:
Los Angeles (PDT): 9:00 AM
New York (EDT): 12:00 PM
London (BST): 17:00
Bangkok: 23:00

Panelists:

Greta Bauer – Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, The University of Western Ontario

 

 

 

 

Angelo Brandelli Costa – Pontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul

 

Jody L. Herman – Williams Institute Scholar of Public Policy, Williams Institute at UCLA School of Law